#BookTalk Halloween Books Round-Up

Halloween is almost here, and I enjoy spending my evenings curled up with a good book in front of the fire. Check out my round-up of the best spooky, scary, and atmospheric books for Halloween.

A Rattle of Bones by Douglas Skelton

Old sins cast a long shadow in this unrelenting thriller by the author of Thunder Bay.

When banners proclaiming the innocence of James Stewart spring up at the gravesite of his famous namesake—a clan leader who was falsely accused of murder and hanged almost three hundred years ago in a miscarriage of justice that still resonates—investigative reporter Rebecca Connolly smells a story.

Set against the stunning backdrop of the Scottish Highlands, A Rattle of Bones is a tale of injustice and mystery, and the enduring echo of the past in the present.

Buy the book.

Curse of the Reaper by Brian McAuley

Scream meets The Shining in this page-turning horror tale about an aging actor haunted by the slasher movie villain he brought to life.

Decades after playing the titular killer in the 80s horror franchise Night of the Reaper, Howard Browning has been reduced to signing autographs for his dwindling fanbase at genre conventions. When the studio announces a series reboot, the aging thespian is crushed to learn he’s being replaced in the iconic role by heartthrob Trevor Mane, a former sitcom child-star who’s fresh out of rehab. Trevor is determined to stay sober and revamp his image while Howard refuses to let go of the character he created, setting the stage for a cross-generational clash over the soul of a monster. But as Howard fights to reclaim his legacy, the sinister alter ego consumes his unravelling mind, pushing him to the brink of violence.

Is the method actor succumbing to madness or has the devilish Reaper taken on a life of its own?

Buy the book.

Return of the Vampire Hunter by Catherine Green

Just your average Cheshire housewife – who used to hunt vampires!

Hannah Oakley used to be a vampire hunter. She retired from active service when she fell in love with the female vampire she was hunting, but old wounds refuse to heal. She and the vampire fought almost to the death, and now it seems that the vampire has tracked her down. Hannah must return to work, grudgingly accepting help from a new hunting partner, and she is determined that this time she will finish the job.

Can she ignore the old lust for her vampire lover? Is the mother able to be a vampire hunter one more time? And will her marriage survive the ordeal?

Buy the book.

The Rising: Awakening (Dark Immortals Book 1) by D. Ann Hall

“A thrilling read for fans of Anne Rice, Wilbur Smith, J.R. Ward, Dan Brown, or Deborah Harkness.”

SHE WILL RISE… HE WILL KNEEL… OR DIE

When Egyptologist Samuel Clayton inherits a gold talisman with unusual markings, he’s driven to uncover its secrets. Where did it come from? What do they mean? And why when receiving it did a flood of forgotten memories and the ethereal red-headed beauty—who had seduced him in his youth—return with malice?

Buy the book.

Love Bites (Book 1) (The Darkness & Light Duology) by T. L. Clark

Shakira had never felt at home growing up in Surrey, but as soon as she entered the quaint Welsh village, she knew she belonged. Maybe it was because of the welcoming villagers. Or perhaps it was the presence of the others whom she sensed nearby; the ones she saw in her dreams, with their strange glowing eyes.

Fate is not always kind. It gives with one hand and takes with the other. There is a reason she didn’t grow up with her own kind.

A rich tale of witchcraft, fae, sorcery, elinefae and dragons; this is a story for all who dare to believe.

Buy the book.

Did you enjoy this article? Sign up now to keep informed of new stories from SpookyMrsGreen.

*Article contains affiliate links

About SpookyMrsGreen

SpookyMrsGreen: The Pagan Housewife. Mindful parenting and modern pagan lifestyle. Keep updated with promotions, special offers and our family adventures if you sign up today! https://www.subscribepage.com/SpookyMrsGreen
This entry was posted in book, book promotion, british horror, free horror, free kindle horror, halloween, horror, Indie author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s